Eye Miss You.

Hey Beautiful!

I hope you are doing well! I hope that since we are approaching the holidays and more recently thanksgiving you are finding something to be thankful for. I was waiting for some sort of inspiration to write this week, because so many important things were this week. I wanted to write that something that was inspiring because lets face it time is short.. So whatever you read should benefit you somehow right?  I really wanted to find the right words so here it goes…

Well this week was kind of hard because on the 17th, which was thursday it marked three years since Ellis Ritter, my grandpa died of pancreatic cancer. It still hurts; I was so close to him. My brother and I used to spend a lot of time with my grandparents; from going over and helping them around their house, to day trips, to them taking us to our different extra curricular activities. It was weird how little things remind you of a person… whenever I hear the song “In Color” by Jamey Johnson it sends my mind straight to him, and the memories I had with him. To the memories of his facial expressions, to the words he used to say.  I hate how hard it is tho how time affects your memory… after a certain period of time that a person is gone, you forget the simple things… the way a persons voice sounds, to their mannerisms, and the way that person would walk.

Cancer is such a terrible beast, and it has its way of stretching its malicious grip and grasping the persons closest to the one affected. During the course of my grandpas cancer, my family was his primary caregivers. It was so hard to watch him suffer, just watching him transform from a strong, bullheaded 230 pound man, to a weak, still bullheaded, scrawny 130 pound man. From being able to mow his lawn with his john deere, to having to be carried to the bathroom by my father. Like my mother said, ” When someone gets cancer, the whole family has cancer.” It just hurt so much to witness the pain that my grandpa underwent; from not being able to eat anything that wasn’t pureed to not being able to use the bathroom without complications.

So I have decided to live my grandpas memory out through volunteering for a very special organization called Special Days Camps. It is a wonderful life changing experience for pediatric cancer patients and their siblings. I love the values that the camp is based upon, its a wonderful opportunity for these children to do activities that they wouldn’t be able to normally in a medically safe and sound environment. These wonderful kids get to enjoy things such as horseback riding, boating, crafting,swimming, oh and singing awesome camp songs!

So this last week me and my bestie Fredy Santiago decided to raise some money to help this cause, I made bracelets and a few christmas cards, and he made postcards with his artwork on them, and sold t-shirts as well. We did very well, I love selling things, and drawing people in, so every person that walked by I told them about special days and just how awesome it is.. and guess what? We made just about 130 dollars!!! I am so excited.

What else happened… Hmmmm I made awesome progress on my paintings andddd I took some pictures for a photo project, and pictures of some past art pieces..

Heres some inspirational quotes to motivate you!

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore.Dream. Discover”
— 
MARK TWAIN

Have a great day and CHOOSE to keep a positive attitude!
Leave a Reply

